The Board | Taipa Area School



Stephen Tansey Chairperson  

My name is Stephen Tansey and I came here from England in 2005 to teach and be Head of Technology at the Kura. I was staff representative on the board for three years before I retired in 2014.  I see representation on the board as an opportunity to use the knowledge and understanding gained during 40 years of teaching to support the Kura and the Doubtless Bay community. I am currently privileged to be the Board Chair.

In retirement I enjoy sailing, golf, fishing and looking after my new home in Cooper’s Beach. I am also Treasurer at Mangonui Cruising Club and a member of local environmental groups.

Sarah Russell Deputy Chairperson    

David Lowe Principal



Tēnā koutou katou

I am very fortunate to sit on the Board as the Tumuaki of Taipa Area School.  I arrived at Doubtless Bay on 28th January 2014.  I was appointed at Taipa Area School as the Physical Education teacher.  Term 1 2016 I was employed as the Deputy Principal and was appointed as Principal May 2021.

Living in Doubtless Bay means many of our students (and staff), enjoy the environment and lifestyle that the Far North has to offer.  (My down time is often spent on the water fishing from my kayak.)

At the heart of how we function, are our school values of, Manaakitanga, Painga and Mahitahi. We are a restorative community and are blessed with a rich history from our Ngati kahu iwi. Our school is proud to offer an education to all our tamariki that draws on and links them to our local community and environment.

Sean Vercammen
Board Member

Glen Bradbury
Board Member
Mike Erihe
Board Member
Christian Mcdonald
Staff Representative

Ko Māmaru te waka

Te Maire te awa

Tuanaki te maunga

Te Ahua te whenua

Ko Te Ahua te marae

Te Paatu te hapū

Ko Ngāti Kahu te iwi

Ko Pikaahu, ko Simeon, ko Himiona toku whānau tūpuna

No Whatuwhiwhi ahau

No Toatoa tōku kainga whenua

Ko Christian McDonald tōku ingoa

Mā tātau e mahitahi – mahi ko tahi – me te whakaaro hauora, mo te angitu ō to tātou taitamariki – ka oti te mahi. As we work together, with hauora in mind, for the success of our rangatahi – the work will be done. Mahia te mahi, hei painga mo te iwi. The success of our tamariki are not that of an individual, but that of our kaiako, our whanau, your whanau, our community, our hapū, your hapū, our iwi, your iwi.

Ko te piko te māhuri, Koia te tipu o te rākau. He rito tangata, he mauri reo, he mauri oro, he mauri ora. Mahi tu, mahi ora, mahi oro. To nurture, to grow, to stand strong and work together.

As the staff representative I look forward to working together with the hauora of our students at the centre.

Leah-Maree Simons
Student Representative
Lisa Jurlina
Board Secretary
  The Secretary role is strictly administrative, Lisa takes no part in discussions or decision making, unless it is to clarify or explain paperwork if specifically asked.
If you wish to make a submission to the board, or have questions regarding anything to do with the Board please contact Lisa Jurlina on 4060159 ext 201 or email


Absentee Email:

Telephone: 09-406 0159

To leave an absentee message for the office press 9 at the prompt

FAX: 09-406 1096
Postal address: 578 SH 10 Taipa,
Mangonui, Northland, New Zealand, 0420